1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

A simple question.

Discussion in 'TF2 Mapping' started by Shadowstorm, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. Shadowstorm

    Shadowstorm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there anyway at all to modify existing TF2 maps in Hammer or otherwise?
     
  2. bclose

    bclose Senior Admins
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    1,134
  3. Shadowstorm

    Shadowstorm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great. Would you mind telling me how? Thank you.
     
  4. bclose

    bclose Senior Admins
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    :lol: Of course.

    This tutorial should be able to handle TF2 maps, since it's the same basic premise. The vmt's get put on the desktop after the decompile.

    http://www.fpsbanana.com/tuts/7305
     
  5. the_mad_magyar

    the_mad_magyar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    53
    I downloaded this and of course the first map I opened up was Turbine...

    Man I really want to try and add some paths where those sealed off garage doors are just to see what it would be like. I know the map isn't really missing anything but it's always fun to play on a modified version of existing maps even for a little bit to throw you off your "typical strategy".
     
  6. bclose

    bclose Senior Admins
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    Beware, when re-compiling there may be some brushes that the decompiler didn't quite figure out (vertex edits and such) and it could Crash or look terrible. Just FYI.
     
  7. the_mad_magyar

    the_mad_magyar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    53

    When working on a map I tend to give it a test run just about every few minutes after making changes. Can can never quite get an accurate feel for things unless you are seeing it in game. I catch tons of errors this way that would have taken me hours to correct had I built upon the error before fixing it.
     
  8. bclose

    bclose Senior Admins
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    That is a good strategy.
     
  9. Darth Cyrax

    Darth Cyrax New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    256
    And any custom textures will be completely white in Hammer, and show up as purple/black checkerboards in game.
     
  10. the_mad_magyar

    the_mad_magyar New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    53

    I found that mapping elitists really frown upon custom textures for TF2 as they call them out of place and blah blah blah. So I don't even bother with them.

    There is so much to choose from really between TF2 and HL2 textures that there really isn't a need for custom ones unless you are doing something totally off the wall.

    Oh yes, and the mapping elitists frown upon the use of HL2 textures in TF2 as well. Fuck em!!! Who made them rulers of all that is mapping?

    Did I just do a 180 on what I was saying? Yes, yes I did. :???:
     
  11. bclose

    bclose Senior Admins
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    9,722
    Likes Received:
    1,134
    I honestly wish they didn't put the HL2 content in the TF2 resources.
     
  12. Shadowstorm

    Shadowstorm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    My ultimate goal is to edit Orange X3 and then give it a public test run.

    Stay tuned.
     
  13. Zind

    Zind KING OF CHAT
    Senior Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    11,777
    Likes Received:
    810
    >.>
     
  14. Darth Cyrax

    Darth Cyrax New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    256
    ... meh, Shadowstorm probably just wants the same orange x3 without the annoying-as-fuck-lack-of-respawnrooms.
    I set out to make my own map, using Orange x3 as the backbone.
    My guess is you, Shadowstorm, just want a version of Orange x3 that isn't broken.
     
  15. Al-Truistic

    Al-Truistic Head Admins
    Head Admin

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7,702
    Likes Received:
    1,527
    WARNING!!!! BLATANT THREAD HIJACKING HERE.

    Darth, can some simple changes be made to the map without an overall re-work?

    Specifically, better lighting in the spawn rooms, and changing class in spawn not costing a life.

    Al
     
  16. Darth Cyrax

    Darth Cyrax New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    4,842
    Likes Received:
    256
    Yes.
    Shadowstorm can do that if he wants, which I suspect he does. I am pretty busy right now, so if he wants to go for it I have no qualms with him.
     
  17. Shadowstorm

    Shadowstorm New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    My goal is nowhere near as elaborate as Darth's, though I do appreciate his reinterpretation of it. I want to modify a few things, but keeping the overall look and feel of the original Orange X3 map as best as I possibly can. I do think I have a great idea regarding two or three potential "additions" to the map, but it just may be a bit to ... different. So, if this is the case, then I'll scrap those features during the map making process (or during the initial feedback stage).

    Keep in mind that aside from watching a few great Youtube videos, I don't really know anything about Hammer. So, I am completely open to tips and tricks regarding this program.